Alright, so fasting… how do I do it, and what do I fast from? First of all, keep in mind that the fasting rules are centuries old, designed by and for monastics, and need to be undertaken with guidance from your priest and caution for your health. If you attempt to jump into these all at once and become an “overnight monastic” you will only hurt your physical health. So without further delay, here’s what we fast from during the Great Lent:
Anything with a spine - so all mammals and birds, as well as most fish are out; shellfish are allowed, but it’s a bit silly to take on a fast of poverty and eat lobster every day. Eggs and dairy are out, as well as olive oil and wine. Now, does this mean you can’t have alternate milks, e.g., coconut, oat, soy, etc.? No - you may have these, and you may also use oils other than olive (avocado is great).
Beer is considered liquid bread in the Slavic tradition, so allowed within reason - hard alcohol is generally not consumed during Lent. There will be a few days here and there where fish is allowed, as well as some days for wine and food with oil - keep an eye on the calendar app to see what you can eat that day.
Children under the age of 7 are not required to observe the fast; neither are the pregnant, nursing, elderly, or those with other medical/ dietary needs - see Fr. Iggy to discuss.